top of page

Poynte "Discreet Enemy" Review


Poynte "Discreet Enemy"

Style - Hard Rock/Alternative



This week, I'm highlight a band I really loved a couple years ago. In fact, I'm putting up my Hip Rock Magazine review as it still holds true today. Enjoy an old school review...


I’m a huge fan of rich sounds, melodies and low tones. This puts me in the mainstream category often. Of course, I enjoy underground music too in many genres so today I am double excited to bring you the review of a band out of Atlanta, Georgia that I cannot get enough of. They are called Poynte and that’s exactly what they are one!


Their offering up a dozen fantastic tracks on their “Discreet Enemy” album. I’m almost speechless t how good they all are but since I have to review it I can’t claim being speechless.


It’s been a while since I heard an album all the way through where I liked every song (Like A Storm “Chaos Theory part 1” was the last one and that was an EP). Each song was contagious and barrel rolled into the next gaining more and more delicious momentum. It was hard to count the number of times I smiled at the flawless production value and rich chemistry the members have on each track. Every song was like a bred-for-battle unit unafraid to take the challenge of rooting out your favorite heavy songs in order to perch high at the top of your playlist.


Kenny Hathorne has excellent melodies and transitions and understands the type of vocal attack this type of heavy rock needs to pull through. The occasional screams (one of the similarities with Breaking Benjamin) let you know he could scream with the best of them if the track called for it.


The music itself has punchy riffs, occasional spinoffs you don’t expect, a variety of light and heavy chords and instrumentation all balanced in mainstream precision. I was often troubled putting them in a category with Breaking Benjamin and Seether as they can definitely stand out in a crowd.


I can’t pick a favorite but I can promise you that their current single, “Hold On” is probably the least badass song on the album and it’s pretty badass. In fact, if you want to know what badass is to me, put Kenny Hathorne on vocals, Matt Bryant and Brett Davis on guitars and backup vocals, send Jake O’Donnell to the bass and launch Josh Fulcher onto the drums and you’ll find out. You’ll call them Poynte but I’ll call them badass. You should join me!


Since every song on this album kicks ass I can’t recommend one over any other. Just do yourself a favor and support this band! Poynte is high on the radar and will definitely be one of the top artists on my list for a long time! I turn the volume up to a 10 for this impressive and delightful gem!

 coming soon: 

 

 More IN SILENT AGONY music

 

 Archy Jay's Godfather theme

 

 Paranormal Crosswave Announcement

 

 and more!

 FOLLOW daniel digs it: 
  • Facebook B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page