top of page

Downfall 2012 We Welcome the Pain Review



I truly hate that here in the Louisville, Ky area and slightly beyond there are no more rock stations. We have too many country stations, a few hip hop and pop stations, easy listening, a couple classic rock stations, talk radio, gospel, Christian Rock and one that tries to throw everything in except modern and hard rock. So it's always a treat, since Hard Rock is my favorite, when I get something that reminds me of Taproot, Staind, and others of that caliber. Downfall 2012 is a trio of musicians from Houston, TX, that rock me in my sweet spot with their alternative metal/active rock: Daniel Gil ~ Vocals and Guitar, Boo Rogers ~ Bass and Vocals, Casey Bowen ~ Drums and Vocals.

What had me double intrigued was their press release about this album. "Conceptually, the album provides a visceral take on social, political, technological, and religious behaviors of today, focusing on how we, as a society, bring pain upon ourselves, perhaps masochistically, through social media, entertainment, and beyond. The record further relates to this theme via the very manner in which it was written and recorded: with the band being locked in seclusion together, creating, at a feverish pace. In addition to all of this, the record title serves as an allegory of the music industry itself, a brutal, cut-throat, and often painful business, for which artists and fans bleed."

This statement, combined with the drool from their single "Take Control" had me fire lit! I'm sad to know they've been around for over 10 years and I just now am finding out about them. So, I got my shovel and proceeded to find out how deep this 11 track album goes.

THE REVIEW Take Control is definitely an instant favorite and probably my favorite on the album with End Credits coming in a close second. But I cannot give each song individual praise because I was surprised to find that every song was badass! I felt a little like I was at a Nonpoint and Sevendust concert. That same energy, that ballistic charm, the desire to flap around like a lunatic tigger, it was all there. I love the switch up from singing to some yelling but nothing was overbearing. It's a perfect blend. To add more awesomeness, the songs had variety. It wasn't the same song over and over. The riffs were really powerful, the melodies were magical and the breakdowns were unexpected and perfect surprises. The lyrics are another nice addition. From what I've noticed in the world in the last year, at least according to social media and the news, is captured well here. I resonated with many of the words.

On one end of the shovel: This is hard rock/alternative metal/active rock of high caliber marks. The production value was top notch and fits in nicely with what's missing in the area I live in. The vocals don't dwell too long in yell territory and the singing is right on. Melodies, riffs, song structure, it's brilliant! It might be tough for them to beat this album next time around, it's that good!

On the other end of the shovel: I'm not sure if my score is a little higher than others might score it simply based on the lack of alternative metal/hard rock in my area. Other areas might be overloaded with this style. If that's the case you may find it a little less awesome if you're just flat out tired of this style. I don't mind some yelling either but too much turns me away. This album almost turned me away due to that but Downfall 2012 might be the exception to the rule for my tastes which is why I can easily let it slide. Also, this album might be considered a bit mainstream but I'm about tired of people dissing mainstream music. Music is music and if a ton of people like it, even better!

How deep can I dig this? Even if your market might be saturated with this style, the variety, song structure, and fueling power will probably still stand out somewhat. With production value that makes each song a sweet punch to the gut you'd swear they should be in the rankings of well known powerhouses like Taproot, Bullet For My Valentine, Nonpoint, Love and Death, Sevendust, etc. I couldn't find anything to really dislike here. With such brilliance and staying power I dig Downfall 2012's "We Welcome the Pain" 9 out of 10 feet deep!

 coming soon: 

 

 More IN SILENT AGONY music

 

 Archy Jay's Godfather theme

 

 Paranormal Crosswave Announcement

 

 and more!

 FOLLOW daniel digs it: 
  • Facebook B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page